A Young Artist’s Inner Struggle

Image result for suzy homemaker

Everyone hopes to have a house of their own someday. Luckily, in today’s society, it is okay to move out of parents houses and live on your own even when you are not married. However, this does not mean that families will always be supportive no matter what. In the introduction for “A House of My Own”, a young woman moves out in the hopes to conquer the world as a writer. I identified a lot with this character by the time I hit the third paragraph.

In the introduction, the woman explains how she fills her room with things from thrift stores and antique stores because they make her happy, and she talks about how she dreams of moving out. Then later on she talks about the dynamic between her and her father who wants his little girl to stay home until she is married and has a brighter, more concrete future. The first couple pages of this story is something straight out of my life. I have always been an odd child. I like weird looking things and I like to take old things and make then new again. That is something that makes me truly happy. I also participated in a lot of fine arts in high school, and am now attending a fantastic art school. I am lucky enough to have a family that supports me 100% now, but it wasn’t always like that. The section that I really identified with and the part that made me think was when she talked about support from her family.

When in the first couple years of high school, I made a lot of big changes in my life. I did rowing my freshmen year, and my Dad could not have been happier. He is an athlete and was so proud of me for doing such a cool sport. Then, after a little while I started to hate it. I ended up quitting and bouncing around clubs all throughout the rest of my first year. Then, my sophomore year I started doing theatre. I rehearsed every single day for shows, I worked on sets on the weekends, and I was often overlooked since I was just starting out. My Dad wasn’t exactly happy. He thought I was wasting my time on something stupid and that my directors were using me because I was so willing to work for no recognition. We fought endlessly over it, and just like the character in the story, my Mom simply let me bed while my Dad begged me to quit. He even refers to me as his “mija” just like the character. Later on though, especially at the end of my senior year when I did get all the recognition I deserved, my Dad changed his attitude. He realized that I was a lot like him. He grew up in a very traditional Mexican family who didn’t see eye to eye with him. He was a boxer, and would compete and train constantly. In this case, his mother didn’t support his efforts and never pushed him to go further. He has a bitter relationship now with his family, and the long line of history of his side of the family is blurry to me because of his broken relationship. My Dad slowly realized that by not supporting me with choir, theater, projects and sewing, he was eventually going to put a huge wedge between us. I love my dad, and it is hard for anyone to function and progress in life without the support of their loved ones, so when my Dad finally started getting excited about what I was doing, that only made me more energized.

Despite having full support now from everyone in my family, there are still many times in which I doubt myself like the main character in the introduction. I was very hesitant about giving up a traditional education to go to an art school that would really push me as an artist. But I am also someone who gravitates towards doing things that I fear. I worry about being able to support myself and be successful, I worry about making my family proud and not wasting their hard earned money, and I even worry about being safe in this crazy town. I worry a lot but I know that that means I have something to lose.  Just like the character I hope to have a house of my own and I want it to be something that I am proud of. (Maria Varela/ CoS Student)

Leave a Reply

